700 MHz Plan for

New England,

Region 19

NEW ENGLAND REGION 19 AUTHORITY OF THE COMMITTEE AND COMMITTEE OFFICERS

Authority of the Committee

The Federal Communications Commission, in conjunction with the National Public Safety Telecommunications Council and The National Coordinating Committee. established a Regional Planning Committee process in the First Report and Order and Notice of Proposed Rulemaking released (January 17, 2000) in Gen. Docket No. 96-86 Technical and Operational Rules and Policies regarding the use of frequencies in the 764-776 MHz and 794-806 MHz bands (700 MHz). Regional Planning Committees, consisting of local representatives from the Association of Public Safety Communications Officers (APCO), the International Municipal Signal Association (IMSA), the Forestry Conservation Communications Association (FCCA), and American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO), were established to cover all parts of the United States, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. The principal spectrum resource for the Regional Planning Committees as identified in FCC Gen. Docket No. 07-132, Second Report and Order is the 769-775MHz and 799-805MHz bands which are further divided into General Use Spectrum, Interoperability Spectrum, State Spectrum and Reserved Spectrum. The FCC designated the lower half of the 700MHz public safety band for broadband communications (763-768/793-798). No assignments will be made in the 769-775MHz and 799-805MHz bands until an amended regional plan for the area has been accepted by the Commission.

Region 19 – Committee Officers

At the initial December 7, 2000 New England Region 700 MHz Planning Committee meeting, held at the Daniel Webster College in Nashua, New Hampshire, Mr. George Pohorilak, current chair of the Region 19 800 MHz Committee, called the meeting to order.

Mr. Pohorilak was nominated from the floor for the position of Chairperson. His election to the position was unanimous. The following officers were then elected: Mr. Jerry Zarwanski was elected as Vice Chairman, and Mr. Jim Warakois was elected as Recording Secretary.

The names and addresses of current officers follows:

Chairman: Mr. George Pohorilak

CT Dept. of Public Safety

Office of Statewide Emergency Telecommunications

PO Box 2794

1111 Country Club Road Middletown, CT 06457-9294

Phone: (860) 685-8108 Fax: (860) 685-8363

E-mail: george.pohorilak@po.state.ct.us

Vice Chairman: Mr. Jerry Zarwanski

CT Dept. of Public Safety

Office of Statewide Emergency Telecommunications

PO Box 2794

1111 Country Club Road Middletown, CT 06457-9294 Phone: (860) 685-8157

Fax: (860) 685-8363

E-mail: jerry.zarwanski@po.state.ct.us

Recording Secretary: Mr. James Warakois

Boston Police Department

2626 Centre Street

West Roxbury, MA 02132 Phone: (617) 343-4214 Fax: (617) 325-2352

E-mail: warakoisj@apco911.org

Treasurer: E. Douglas Hackett

(Current Elected APCO Atlantic Chapter Treasurer)

Hanover Police Department

46 Lyme Road

Hanover, NH 03755 Phone: (603) 643-2222